Soundwalk
Soundscape
Pacific Beach Cottage Porch
Preview
0:00
-5:00

Pacific Beach Cottage Porch

Coastal Morning Sounds of Spring

I like to pair my Soundscape programming with my Soundwalk episodes when I can, but a bum XLR cable and an unlucky site choice made my fixed Timothy Lake shore recording last fall a failure. This is common. Most field recordings that I make are unspectacular. That’s why I keep at it. Almost daily.

Another thing I like to do is share something recent. So here’s a recording I made last week in Pacific Beach, WA from the porch of a cottage my family had the pleasure of staying at. It’s a 87 minute dawn chorus audio bouquet of downspout drips, rain showers, frog choruses, Pacific Wrens, Song Sparrows, American Robins, Stellar’s Jays, and the distant Pacific Surf. It evolves pretty nicely, I think. Enjoy!

Recorded with a stereo pair of Rode NT1s in an ORTF array to a Tascam DR-100 mkIII.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Soundwalk to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Soundwalk
Soundscape
Soundscape presents relaxing and renewing five minute field recordings captured in nature by Chad Crouch (using the recordist pseudonym Field Sound: artist.link/fieldsound). Premium subscribers get access to the complete recordings (10-90 minutes long)!
Listen on
Substack App
Apple Podcasts
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Chad Crouch